The Business of Yoga (part 3)

Part of the fun of being a small business owner is every single day is different.  And as much as I am in control of my own schedule, sometimes I’m just not.  Running a business forces you to learn how to literally “go with the flow.”  For instance, this morning I had a private yoga client cancel which opened up time for me to blog.  After this, I’ll head into Washington, DC (in the pouring rain) and teach a corporate yoga class.  I love what I do.  I also love that on Fridays my day is done by 1:15pm.  There is no denying the amount of freedom and flexibility my business offers me.

As a full-time yoga teacher with a mobile yoga business (abellaYoga – travels to teach yoga in homes & offices)  I primarily teach yoga Mon-Fri.  It’s the behind the scenes stuff that many new business owners (particularly yoga teachers) may not know needs to happen to keep a steady schedule of clients.  I do things like drafting contracts, writing proposals and creating promotional handouts for office yoga programs.  I attend networking events, run to the bank to make deposits and often function as my own IT guru (who really should be fired; technology is an area I struggle with).  Currently, I’m in the midst of working with a web designer to revamp my website as well as prepping for the City of Alexandria’s Employee Health Fair that I’ll be exhibiting at a few weeks.

As much as I love the variety each day offers, sometimes it can be challenging to keep myself on track.  To keep some structure in my fluid schedule here are a few things over the years I have found helpful.

Do Your Yoga – Schedule your own yoga practice.  Write it down in your calendar or on your daily “to do” list.  I’m serious.  If it doesn’t get booked, it won’t happen.  You’ll feel better and your students will have a better experience.  As I mentioned in a previous post, it’s through your own personal practice you’ll find your creative expression as a yoga teacher.  No practice = no expression.  It’s that simple.

Clear clutter – Clutter in our homes and offices mentally weighs us down.  As soon as the mail comes each day, I go through it right away and recycle most of it or file the bills in the “to be paid” folder.  The few catalogs I get, I try to flip through that evening and recycle immediately when finished.  Visit dmachoice.org to stop getting junk mail and catalogs you don’t want or need.  Online banking & billing is another great way to lighten your mailbox and keep your counters/desk clean.

Use a calendar – You need to find a system that works for you.  Believe it or not, I use a paper calendar.  I’m certain I could be more efficient by moving my scheduling system online but there is something I like about just quickly being able to open my paper calender when a client needs to make a quick change.  Often iPhones/iPads/computers take a little time to pull up the calendar.  I also keep a list of monthly “to do’s” that happen every month each year.  For instance, I know my corporate business tax is due every September and my Yoga Alliance renewal is every May.  This way I’m never surprised about money that is due or risk missing an important deadline.

Get Outside – All my yoga classes are taught inside.  Most of the “behind the scenes” things I do are done inside.  I find it key to get outside at least 20 minutes a day.  Whether its to walk the dogs or sit outback to read an article, I make sure I get some fresh air so I can return to the indoors with a clearer perspective.  Remember, nature is powerful medicine.

Again, these are just a few things I’ve discovered over the last 6+ years of running my own business.  If you have other ideas, please share!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Definitely sounds like your livin the dream. I myself am striving to be self sufficient with my own business. It’s not Yoga but it’s the same concept.

    Great post thank you for sharing this.

    Reply

  2. Thanks for commenting. I just checked out your site beup.com —great looking apparel. I definitely will be placing an order. I love the cowl neck tank!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Barcelona Extreme Urban Yoga on April 15, 2013 at 8:36 am

    Hello, we are the Barcelona Extreme Urban Yoga team out of Spain, and we love your blog! We totally agree about your section on being cooped up indoors, and we would love to show you our new video on the subject of Urban Yoga: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqSQ6Ujh46k We are hoping to spread the revolution of Urban Yoga to the yoga community, and our video highlights the positive aspects that Urban Yoga brings to beginner yogis. Hopefully you find our video of interest, and we would love to have you share the video with your following. Thank you so much!

    Reply

  4. The content is great and perfect for what you’re trying to say. Awesome web site. Waiting for more posts on this article to read more. Keep up your excellency and efficiency in this same levels.

    Reply

  5. I was surfing internet for such useful information and fortunately came across to your blog. I am pleased to find this site as it entails very useful information for the readers. Thanks a lot for this wonderful post.

    Reply

  6. Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. I like this site very much so much superb information.

    Reply

  7. This article motivates you to take up Yoga even if you are having an air tight schedule. The author’s blogs are always funny yet insightful. I love reading them.

    Reply

  8. This blog is very inspirational.

    Reply

  9. So true, although yoga is about relaxation and focus and all things great in life, having a yoga business is absolutely not the same. Although the inspiration and the passion for yoga should remind us about why we are doing it in the first place! Thank you for sharing your thoughts! From http://www.mogayoga.bg

    Reply

Leave a comment