Sutra Slacking

Given my last blog entry is dated from September, it appears from the outside I’ve been slacking on my yoga sutra commitment.  If you recall, in 2012 I set out to pick a sutra every couple of weeks (read Celebrate Now, sutra 1.1), meditate on it and blog about it.  I fully admit this was a challenging task, yet for whatever reason I decided back in September to double the challenge by learning The Yoga Sutras in Sanskrit.

Of course learning the sutras in Sanskrit requires first I learn Sanskrit, an extremely rich and ancient language.  Let’s break it down further, learning a new language requires I learn a new alphabet that has its own characters and sounds.  As Pierre Couvillion says, learning Sanskrit is like “gymnastics for the tongue”.

Sanskrit is a very energetic/vibrational language that not only involves speaking it but very much involves feeling it.   Just from the few practice sessions I’ve done so far, I’ve felt lighter and more at ease in my body.  It sounds crazy but it’s been a pretty powerful experience.  In addition to simply speaking the alphabet and moving the tongue in a certain way, learning Sanskrit requires a level of breath work, meditative focus and patience.  And as the source language for everything yoga –including asana, chanting, mantras and philosophical yoga texts such as The Yoga Sutras and The Bhagavad Gita –learning Sanskrit has really put my yoga commitment to the test and has taken my yoga sutra studies to a new level.

So have I been sutra slacking or just slightly sutra side-tracked?  You decide.  Good news is I’m still around – still yoga-ing, studying yoga, loving yoga and sharing yoga as much as I can in and around the DC/Arlington area.

6 responses to this post.

  1. how have you gone about learning sanskrit? I would love to study it as well!

    Reply

  2. Great Blog, I am really starting to get into the meditation side of things right now but have been doing yoga for 3 years now and the funny thing when you first start meditation you get the feeling your mind is actually speeding up, its hard to relax. This is actually in todays society how hard our mind is actually working. Meditation and Yoga is what helped me quit smoking…Unbeatable combination
    Look forward to reading more of your work

    Reply

  3. I will be definitely starting to buy this relaxation side today although have been doing yoga with regard to 3 years right now along with the funny thing when you first begin relaxation you will get the feeling your mind is in fact speeding up, the tricky for you to loosen up.yoga teacher training in india

    Reply

Leave a comment