Keep Rolling (sutra 1.13)

Effort toward steadiness is practice.  sutra 1.13

I get this sutra when it comes to asana practice.  I get this sutra when it comes to mountain biking, running and tackling my vision board/goals.  What I hadn’t quite applied it to until now is my writing.  In order for my blogging to be consistent, my journaling needs to be consistent.  Daily — just a like a daily asana practice.

The Yoga Sutras weren’t shared thousands of years ago in reference to writing or mountain biking but here’s the awesome thing about the sutras…many of them can be applied to anything in your life -not just to yoga asana, meditation and samadhi (enlightenment).

I was lucky to get to NYC this past Wednesday for my monthly dose of yoga with Dharma Mittra.  In typical Dharma fashion while we were all getting up into forearm balance, he reminded me “you must have angry determination“.  The key to success in a yoga pose is repetition (another Dharma-ism).  And really the key to many things in life is steady effort, repetition, “angry determination” or simply, practice!

Of course, it’s easier said than done and along the way you (me, all of us) will fumble and tumble a lot.  In fact, I find my writing is sometimes ugly, dry and empty but the more often I put the pen to paper, the easier it gets.  As Albert Einstein said “I think and think for months, for years.  99 times the conclusion is false.  The 100th time I am right.”  So as often as I unroll my yoga mat, I will now be rolling my pen on paper.  This means daily.  This means living sutra 1.13 in more ways than one.

A total side note:  If you live in the Washington, DC vicinity and have never practiced with Dharma Mittra, it is an easy day trip.  Hit me up if you want details.  He will propel your yoga practice & dedication to life.

Leave a Reply

