The Need to Write (sutra 2.33)

If anyone out there has been reading my blog, it’s clear I’ve been MIA since January.  As I documented here, my intention in 2012 is study The Yoga Sutras in detail and blog weekly on one of the them.

With 190+ of them to choose from, sounds like a simple task yet I have definitely fallen short of my “weekly blogging” intention.  And it’s easy to beat myself up over it.  It seemed like the more weeks that went by the harder it was for me to jump back out here and write.  I couldn’t even remember my wordpress password at first…that’s a bad sign.

However, this last week or so I recalled sutra 2.33 “When disturbed by negative thoughts, opposite (positive) ones should be thought of.  This is pratipaksha bhavana.”  This sutra reminded me that I have been reading The Yoga Sutras almost daily this year and writing about them on paper (this is positive, right?).  It’s just the process of taking my writings from paper to the blog haven’t quite been priority in my schedule the last couple months.  I also remind myself of all the good things I’ve been up to this year — which I’ll save for another time.

For now, I broke the “seal” and I’m back to carving out more time for my yoga sutra postings.  As I finish up my internship requirements for Sri Dharma Mittra’s 500-hour Life of a Yogi Teacher Training Program (which by the way rocks!), the blog postings still may not be weekly but I will continue to remind myself I am studying the sutras in-depth, practicing them and teaching them regularly.  These are positive steps, completely in line with my 2012 intention, and I felt the urge to finally blog it.  Namaste.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Looking forward to the sutras…

    Reply

  2. Think positive. It’s so simple, yet I struggle to do so in everyday life. I should recite that to myself like a mantra now 🙂 Thanks for sharing this! Will be looking forward to other sutras 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

