Lip Balm Panic

Life is all about change, right?  And yoga teaches us how to be agile (and oh so graceful) as we surf the flow of change -whether we are in an asana class, literally surfing the Pacific (go Michelle!) or just trying to get through life.  In other words, yoga shows us how to be with change and ride it verses resist it and run.

I believe this concept so much that I talked about riding change and its challenges on Monday morning during the yoga class I taught to the City of Alexandria Fire Department recruits.  Then it hit me on my drive home from class that morning…just mere hours the night before I totally was NOT practicing what I had just preached.

Life is all about change.  And it’s good…until you find out your favorite lip tinted balm has been discontinued!  On Sunday night while tackling my weekly grocery list at MOM’s, I decided to grab a couple sticks of Burt’s Bees Toffee Lip Shimmer (just in case).  They had a fresh, well-stocked display of all the colors -except my favorite shade.  There wasn’t even a slot for the toffee.

When I visited my online supplier (drugstore.com) later that night, I discovered they were also “out of stock”.  Google searches led me to various online beauty shops around the country but they were all out of stock of the little $5 stick I desired.  Looking back to Sunday night, I think I went into panic mode.  This would never have happened to me a few years ago.  I use to always have a huge stash of my favorite lip staples – just in case.  Yet in the last couple of years, I’ve been doing my best to practice the yogic principle Aparigraha.  Aparigraha is translated as non-attachment (letting go) or not hoarding.  Through this practice we learn that by letting go we begin to trust the flow of life.  Trust that the universe will take care of us, right?

Well, the universe took care of me!  After an exhaustive (panicky) search online, I found a feed & grain store in Alaska that still had the Burt’s Bees Toffee Lip Shimmer in stock.  I ordered 10 sticks, disregarding the crazy fact that the shipping cost is the same price as the product (I cross my fingers my husband isn’t reading this post).

I admit I won’t be totally relieved until my stash is replenished when those 10 sticks arrive.  And when they do, I will cherish each application knowing that we only have few precious moments left (maybe about a year in truth).  This will enable me to handle the change, gradually, at my own speed.   Yes I know not all change can or should be handled in this manner.  Though I’ve decided when it comes to lip stick/balm (my only beauty product), change is good with a little notice 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. So I’m NOT the only hoarder of something as seemingly interchangeable as lip balm? What a relief! 😉 love your blog, keep keeping it real!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Johana on October 27, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Try Buddha Balm. Outsells Burts Bees in places like Los Angeles and Las Vegas. So much better. Goes on smooth, tastes great and lasts long.

    Reply

  3. Lip balm is my only beauty product as well! I absolutely adore Hurraw Lip Balms: they are organic, vegan, and raw. And shimmery! With lots of yummy flavors…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

