A Life Worth Breathing

“Stay courageous.  To have your courage stripped away by others is something you cannot afford to let happen.  Money and property can be taken away by others, but your strength of spirit and human goodness is yours alone to keep or give away.” –Max Strom

A Life Worth Breathing is by far one of the most inspirational books I’ve picked up in a long while.  If you aren’t familiar with Max Strom, I am fond of describing his presence as being like that of a gentle giant.  An internationally known yoga teacher, Max is big in stature (well over 6 feet) and huge in heart.

I’ve been reading his new book (his first book finally!) slowly for about a month now.  The way it is written almost feels like being in class with him as I can hear his solid yet soft-spoken voice through the pages.  Much of it is extremely heartfelt, thought-provoking and experiential.  I continue to pick it up almost daily vs. letting it collect dust with the gazillion other yoga books sitting by my bedside.  For me, that says a lot!

Even if you don’t practice yoga, A Life Worth Breathing has a wealth of material that can alter one’s outlook on life and more importantly one’s self.  The power of intention, forgiveness and breathing are all things that can inspire and shift the lives of both yogis and non-yogis.

7 responses to this post.

  1. ive met him when i introduced a workshop he was doing for kripalu.

    his hands are GIGANTIC

    Reply

  2. Namaste,

    My name is Chris Almond. I maintain a blog site for my Vedanta teacher/guru Sadhvi Chaitanya. I wanted to see if you would be interested in doing a link exchange to mutually promote our blogs/sites. As you know, the more incoming links a site has the higher its ranking in search engines. I teach Piano as well and I’ve done this a lot there and my site is usually tops in Google searches for my area and this is one of the core strategies for SEO(search engine optimization.) If you are interested, let me know and I’ll set up a link for either your blog or Main site on my blog here. Incidentally, she teaches here in the DC area and Yoga teachers may be very interested in her Sanskrit classes or Vedic Chanting classes. Vedanta is a great complimentary study to yoga.

    http://sadhvichaitanya.com/

    If you link to it please put the words, “Vedanta, Gita and Sanskrit classes DC” with the link embedded.

    Om,
    Chris

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tasneem R on June 4, 2010 at 5:34 am

    I’ll definitely go through the book ‘ A Life Worth Breathing ‘ . Such meaningful books is what I love to read . Thanks for letting us know of this book .
    Here you’ll find a number of resources on yoga publications .
    http://www.a2zyoga.com/yoga-directory/publications.php

    Reply

  4. That post was really enjoyed the read, I see why quite a few people read it. Apprecaite you taking time out your day to write that. I am currently traveling the world for 3 years on month 18 right now come check us on our blog. See you soon looking forward to next post.

    Unstoppable Family
    Brian and Rhonda Swan

    Reply

  5. “the power of forgiveness” is HUGE! For some folks that one step forward is the thing they need to really say their life is worth breathing! I’ll add this book to my dust collecting pile 🙂

    Reply

  6. Thank you for the referral. I am going to buy it tomorrow. Can’t wait!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

