Fear is Funny

Fear is a funny thing.  Just when I think I’ve gotten beyond a fear, another one shows up.  And sometimes I think I’m the only one who had a particular fear.  For instance, sometimes I am fearful of standing up in front of large group, particularly an “unknown” group.

So it was refreshing to read a recent blog posting by Peggy Mulqueen, one of my favorite yoga teachers in the Washington D.C. area.  The post titled “do one thing a day that scares you” was somewhat surprising to read as well because Peg is such a gifted yoga teacher.  It appears so natural for her to be smiling in the spotlight as she leads one of her amazing yoga classes.  Who knew she had a little secret?

As a yoga teacher myself, I’ve noticed I get nervous in front of a new yoga class/new group of students.  Once I start teaching the group, the fear fades after 2-3 classes.  It’s like the fear of the unknown takes over and stirs up some uneasiness; sort of like the jitters one feels when going on a first date.

Anyway, I’m sure some of my students have never realized this about me.  I certainly never knew this as a yoga student of Peg’s.  Fear is like a little secret and we each hold on to it in some shape or form.  And we’re often fearful of sharing the secret.  What good does it do for us to hold on to it?  It’s actually a relief to share it (it’s like the first step in overcoming the fear) and in the process discover that you’re not alone.  I’m not alone 🙂  Thanks Peg!

I leave you with two things…

1)  “Our greatest fears are like dragons guarding our greatest treasure.”  -Rainier Marie Rilke.  Share your fears, face them and discover something new about you!

2)  Check out Peg’s Friday night intermediate class at Down Dog Yoga in D.C.  Please don’t let the intermediate title scare you.  If it does, let go of the fear.  You’ll be glad you showed up!

2 responses to this post.

  1. talking in front of strangers (or, an unknown group 🙂 is actually more common than the fear of death! it’s the #1 most common fear. sooo…. you’re in good company.

    Reply

  2. Just wanted to say that I love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

