Shine Your Light

A few years ago at a San Francisco Yoga Journal workshop I attended led by David Swenson, I heard a quote that has stuck with me.  In the middle of attempting a forearm balance he said “There are fears that keep us alive, and there are fears that keep us from living.”

Writer extraordinaire Michelle, of 210 days of waves, posted this article today  “What’s the Meaning of This?” at workawesome.com.  As I read through it, I was fully taken down memory lane.  I vividly recall the thoughts I use to have about how “stuck in the rat race” I felt.   I wanted out but I liked the paycheck.  On the flip side, I knew I wasn’t living my full potential.  I also felt the longer I stayed in the corporate environment, the dimmer my light became.

What was holding me back?  Me!  I use to think I could never teach yoga because I was afraid to do it.  I was afraid of failing.  I was afraid of speaking in public.  I was afraid I wouldn’t know enough.  I was afraid of looking stupid.

Well, today I have my own yoga business teaching in-home private & corporate yoga full-time —just like Michelle’s article states.  It’s humbling to know I will never know everything there is to know about yoga in this lifetime.  I also know that we are each unique individuals and stumbling along the way is how we find our shine!

I fully admit my fears were pinning me down and sucking the life out of me.  I’m not sure I knew this fully at the time, but now I know it enough to never let it happen again.

Take the time to read What’s the Meaning of This? and maybe rethink what you’re doing today.  Are you shining from the inside out?  What’s your passion?  What’s holding you back from living it?  Remember “there are fears that keep you alive (i.e. like the instinct to get out of a burning building), and there are fears that keep you from living”.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tasneem R on January 29, 2010 at 5:45 am

    Yes I read ‘ What’s the meaning of this ?’ and have also left a comment.
    See your worst fears are gone now! You are now running a yoga class ! That’s great ! Well we all have some kind of fears in our lives. The thing is we should try to overcome our fears .
    http://a2zyoga.com/blog

    Reply

  2. Amazing! We just posted this to our Yoga Unites for Living Beyond Breast Cancer Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/yogaunites

    Reply

    • Thanks for checking back with me. I will help spread the word online & around DC. Are there other U.S. yoga fundraisers scheduled, or just this one in Philly? If I’m around that weekend, I may even plan to trek up to Philly to attend.

      Reply

  3. That is a great article, it takes guts to step out of line and start living your passion. I wouldn’t take back that step for anything. I’m fortunate enough to be in a career outside which I love, however injured myself skiing and have started practicing yoga regularly to become more flexible and in tune with my body.
    Looks like I will need the expertise from your passion.

    Love your blog, and congratulations on running your own class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

