Yoga Sutra Enthusiasm

There are two essential reading requirements for all Yoga Teachers:  Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras and The Bhagavad Gita.  For over 7 or 8 years I’ve picked up various copies of the Yoga Sutras and honestly I just didn’t them.  Overwhelming, boring and lost were all adjectives I would use to describe my reading experience and lack of understanding.

During the Summer of 2009 I had a shift.  I discovered Nischala Joy Devi’s “The Secret Power of Yoga” and could actually follow her translation.  Then I had the privilege (thanks to Beloved Yoga in Reston, VA) of attending a 2 day Yoga Sutra workshop with her and that’s when things started to click.  Though this book is written from a feminine voice (which is rare in the Yoga Sutra world), don’t let it fool you.  Yogis (males) and yoginis (females) alike can benefit from Nischala’s thoughtful approach and application of the Sutras in daily life.

Additionally just before Christmas, I ordered “Inside the Yoga Sutras”.  This translation had been recommended to me multiple times, but I was skeptical.  I love it!  I am now completely happy with the Yoga Sutra books I own – well I love two of the four.  Though I figure I must have all of them for some reason -right?

Part of the yoga process is finding what works for you.  In my case, finding Yoga Sutra translations that resonate with me are part of my yoga journey.  Now if I could only fall in love with The Bhagavad Gita.  As the Buddha said “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear”.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I am missing your meditation posts! But, I like these, too 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mel on January 6, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Thank you very much for those recommendations. I am also “glad” to read that others do struggle as well. Sometimes it seems like I am the only 😦 one that doesn’t get it, or do some of the others only pretend to understand? I find your honesty here as a yoga teacher very appealing.

    Reply

    • Posted by Mel on January 6, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      Do you know why my name is not linked? Wanted to double-check that the link does not go to my fitness blog, but there is no link at all. I will not write it here because maybe you set it yourself to only show certain/ chosen links.

      Reply

  3. Good luck with the Gita! IMHO, the Gita is great at explaining the ‘What’ of liberation and Patanjali was great with explaining the ‘How’…Either ways, when read together, its very refreshing…hope you get hold of a good translation….if you find that difficult, try out the Yoga Vasishta…i found it much easier to go through being a dummy, so am sure you’ll do better 🙂 ….cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

