Take a Yoga Vacation

The title of this entry does not imply going on a yoga retreat to do yoga all week as a vacation.  What I am suggesting is you take a break from your yoga practice for a few days, maybe even a week.  Dare I say this!  Why would I suggest it?

The best thing for your practice can sometimes be not practicing.  I discovered this a couple weeks ago while spending a week of vacation in the Caribbean.  The first few mornings my natural inclination was to immediately think I needed to jump out of bed, unroll my yoga mat and practice with the sunrise.  Something told me, hold back.  After all, I was on vacation to take a break from my daily routine.

Sure I practiced a little asana and meditation almost every day (anywhere from 15-45 minutes) but I did it without a plan.  Even in these short practices, I felt my body in a way I haven’t felt in a long time. –stiff!  Yes, I felt stiffer than usual because I wasn’t practicing as much.   But this unfamiliar stiffness brought greater awareness to areas of my body I hadn’t quite paid attention to in some time.  I felt more connected from the inside out.  I moved slower but I felt more in sync with my natural surroundings —the swaying palm trees and calm morning ocean.

Now as I settle back into the reality of my everyday life, I have returned to my mat with a greater appreciation that I have yoga in my life.  I am appreciative for the longer practices I am able to do most days.  I am even more appreciative of a couple poses I previously wasn’t a huge fan of, such as upward facing dog (Urdhva Mukha Svanasana).

P.S.  If you were reading this blog entry in hopes of finding a yoga retreat for a yoga vacation, grab a copy of the November issue of Yoga Journal and read “Great Escapes”.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tupaitambun on November 11, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Nice tutorial..

    Reply

  2. Posted by juni on November 28, 2009 at 12:42 am

    Break from yoga! well I dont agree to this. Although you can change your yoga styles try some new styles in an all different environment. Change the place, your tutor …. n bla bla. there are number ways for a change but keep yoga away is not reasonable. For a change you can try Kurt Johnsens Yoga DVD available online at http://shop.veria.com/Yoga-For-Life-Instructional-DVD-featuring/A/B001DYFD0O.htm.

    Reply

  3. great post thanks for posting

    Reply

  4. the art of war…

    …He wrote that . . ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

