Calling All Yoga Teachers and Yoga Therapists – Read This

If you are a yoga therapist, read this.  If you are a yoga teacher interested in yoga therapy (like myself) and not quite clear on the differences, read this article “I’m Not a Yoga Therapist Anymore!”.

I recently joined the International Association of Yoga Therapy (IAYT) in an effort to better understand the field of yoga therapy.  I often have thought the term yoga therapy sounds like a temporary solution or short-term cure of using yoga to address physical health problems.  Yoga is so much more than that. I believe there are aspects of yoga that can benefit every individual on this planet.  It’s a practice that can be done anywhere, anytime of day, at any stage in one’s life.

Leslie Kaminoff is the author of this article.  Thank you Leslie for providing clarity to a term, yoga therapist, that I’ve been somewhat confused by.  As a yoga teacher/educator, I believe part of my role is to educate people on how to use what they already have to feel better about themselves, their lives and the world around them and have wondered how my work differs from that of a yoga therapist.  The definitions you provide of therapist vs. educator are very insightful.

I think this type of discussion is only the beginning of what is yet to come in the yoga world.  People are starting to pay attention.  Whether you call yourself a yoga therapist or teacher, you’re making a difference in people’s lives and that’s what matters most.  Don’t get bogged down by the terminology but it’s wise to understand the difference.  I would love to hear from other yoga teachers and therapists on this topic.  Chime in…

Leave a Reply

