Yoga Jewelry vs. Mala Beads

I practice yoga a lot.  I have a lot of “yoga” type clothes.  I have a ton of yoga books, mats, related music, etc.  One thing I’m “anti” is yoga jewelry.  Don’t get me wrong; there are some nice/cute/sexy pieces out there.  For instance, check out www.SatyaJewelry.com or www.theYcatalog.com.  And I love jewelry, but yoga jewelry?

My personal opinion is the yoga accessory category has gone overboard.  I don’t need to wear yoga jewelry to verify my commitment to yoga.  I don’t need to tattoo an OM symbol on my neck to prove to others I’m a yogi.

I know accessories are an expression of who we are but at some point, enough is enough.  True expression comes from the heart –thoughts, words and actions.  Yoga is a way of life.  People can see it from my face, posture and shine.  I don’t need material items to express yoga; it naturally expresses itself through me, out of me.

On the flip side, to keep me focused in my meditation practice I did purchase some jade mala beads last year from The Y Catalog.  I originally just used them for my meditation practice but then I started to wear them.  They felt good to wear.  Next thing I knew, I was receiving compliments on them…multiple compliments.

What happened next?  I ordered the faceted crystal mala beads, and I love them.  I rotate between the crystal and jade beads for meditation and wear them regularly as well.  Funny thing, I continue to receive compliments.  Needless to say, I have mixed feelings now on what I term yoga jewelry.

P.S.  If you’re not sure what mala beads are, check out this link: www.yogajournal.com/practice/2579

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lisa on August 7, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    i just started taking yoga. i dont know if im a yogi. ha ha i really like the jewelry sites. check out my website lisalately.com sign my guestbook…yhanx, lisa

    Reply

  2. Nice article, thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Fashion Designer – Handbag, Jewelry, Belts, and Bracelets

    Hey, check this site olalaonline.com. I got handbags here and they were so cheap and really great looking too.
    They said I could return them after 180 days too, for whatever reason.
    The best part is the free gifts. I love freebies and this one had so many earrings that I could earn for free.

    Reply

  4. yoga is good for the soul, jewelery retail therapy is also good for the soul

    Reply

  5. whoah this weblog is wonderful i like reading your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You know, many people are looking round for
    this info, you could aid them greatly.

    Reply

  6. Posted by judi on January 11, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    a truth desire is an impulse from the heart… your heart has impulses for yoga jewelry! me too, don’t judge yourself, learn from yourself, love yourself. be whoever you want to be.

    Reply

  7. Great article

    Reply

Leave a Reply

