Modern-Day Enlightenment

What is enlightenment?  I’m jumping into the land of the unknown with this entry.  Or is it unknown? Have I experienced enlightenment?

The more I continue to study the various aspects of yoga (a.k.a. the 8 limbs including philosophy, meditation, asana, breathing, etc.) I seem to get closer to my heart and the things that really matter in life.  I’m more aware of the incessant “voices in the head” (If you think this sounds crazy, read on).  Randomly I have subtle moments I feel my mind quiet and I am fully aware of the present.

I don’t think the chatter will ever stop but I’m becoming aware of how redundant, unnecessary and useless much of the noise “upstairs”.   At times, I’m able to tune it out/turn it off.  Prior to recent, I thought the chatter was normal.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, what’s going on in your head right now?  What chatter do you hear?  What judgments are you making about me?  About yourself?  Or maybe the world around you?  How often do you think the same redundant thoughts about yourself, others, etc.?  How often do you worry about things that will more than likely never ever happen?  I remember attending a lecture with Judith Lasater last year and she said “Worrying is like praying for something bad to happen”.

Along with all this, I can’t forget to mention my listening has greatly improved.  When someone speaks, I do my best to provide my full attention physically, mentally and emotionally.  I now find myself noticing how often others aren’t listening (they’re doing what I use to do!).

Unless you’ve done any spiritual self-studies, this entry might sound foreign or simply crazy.  I use to think it was all crazy, but my experiences have opened my eyes to what it means to live in the present and live life.  I often experience myself feeling more “awake” in the chaos to a point where I’m able to rise above it and just observe.  Basically, I think I’m waking up to life.  Could this be modern-day enlightenment?  Maybe, maybe not…but I think I’m on the right track.

Leave a Reply

