The Answers Are Inside

I’m slowly discovering I have all the answers but I haven’t taken enough time to listen.  Seeking answers requires patience and awareness.  It also requires that we ask the right questions.  Going deep inside with questions, requires stillness.  Stillness drives creativity.  Creativity drives the questions.  I don’t think there’s ever one final answer as each new answer creates new questions.  With new questions, there are more answers.  Being willing to listen within is a continuous cycle of discovery. 

I often say to my yoga students “take care of yourself so you can take care of others”.  Part of taking care of one’s self is living in and respecting the cycle of discovery; that is, taking the time to go inside, patiently sit with the Self and be open to whatever comes up.  This is hard.  It’s far easier to look outside of the Self for answers, rely on words from others or stories we tell ourselves based on external factors (not necessarily facts).  The problem is these externally driven answers don’t really bring us closer to the truth.  More than likely, the external answers barricade us farther from our truth.

Vinyasa practice (often termed meditation in motion), meditation, journaling, chanting and walking in nature are simple tools that I rely on to enable me to “be” with myself, craft questions and listen for the answers.    

2 responses to this post.

  1. Seeking the inner guidance is your ultimate strength in finding your mastery

    K Amber

    POWER Yoga Positions FREE

    Reply

  2. Posted by sarahcentric on May 4, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Well put…I am 32 now and I cannot believe how true that is!! I spent so many years convinced that happiness and success were all “out there”for the grabbing as long as you were aggressive and focused enough to get it. It wasn’t until this year that I realized you just need to sit the hell down on a meditation mat (or yoga mat;-) and listen to yourself.

    Lovely writing over here, keep at it!

    -Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

