Inspiration to Give

My dear friend Kristy in PA recently emailed the following to a group of her close yogi friends, including me.  I had read the same article that she is referencing in the current issue of Yoga Journal but I am so impressed to see that she took the initiative to share it and remind some of us who might have glossed over it.  Thanks Kristy!

Here’s her inspirational email:  I was reading my Yoga Journal magazine the other day and there was an article I’d like to share with you all.  Just some food for thought.  
 
“After receiving a holiday gift of a cookbook on chicken from a well-meaning relative two years ago (I don’t eat poultry), I decided to rethink holiday giving.  The next year I requested that friends and relatives donate money to a worthy cause instead of buying, me, say, yet another pair of salad tongs.  The plan worked beautifully: 
 
I cut down of planetary waste, helped those who really needed it, and eliminated loads of unwanted presents.  To start a new holiday tradition, write a heartfelt letter to friends and family explaining your reasons- financial, spiritual, or otherwise- for asking that everyone donated money in lieu of getting you a present.”  N.I.  (Yoga Journal, December 2007)
 
If this doesn’t sound like something you’re interested, that’s ok.  If you are, here are some websites to check out:

www.justgive.org    www.kiva.org      www.mygiftlist.com 

Happy Holidays!

One response to this post.

  1. My message did not seem to post so I am trying again. I don’t usually comment on blogs so I hope I get it right this time!

    I agree that spiritual consumerism is a pitfall. Yet there may be a “middle way” that also contributes to building network and educating others who would appreciate yoga, meditation, etc. if they knew more and knew it is no longer a “liability” to be public about such practices.When I wear inspirational jewelry I seek an energetic connection. Recently I found a wonderful high quality gold and silver yoga jewelry selection handcrafted by a yoga practitioner on a remote island yoga community. Rings, pendants, necklace charms, earrings, pendant necklaces, with some neat themes – laughing buddha, yin yang, om, namaste in sanskrit, lotus blossoms, yoga poses, all at http//www.BeachYogaJewelry.com. This is what I mean … to feel connected with other practitioners and support their artistry. Check it out. I already ordered my own gold jewelry pendant. Now I am going back for holiday gifts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

