Meditation = Not Thinking

I’m not a fan of wearing yoga-inspired jewelry.  To me it’s frivolous.  It’s not a necessity.  It’s certainly not needed to practice yoga.  Of course, I have plenty of other areas in my life in which I splurge so I try to bring a little balance into my life by not splurging on unnecessary yoga items.

I’m also not a fan of wearing mala beads.  They aren’t necessary to meditate but I personally find them helpful to keep me focused during my meditation practice.  So yes, I own one strand for this purpose.

With that said, I’m not clear as to why I wore my jade mala beads around my wrist to a business networking breakfast on Tuesday morning.  Little did I know, conversation would surface around them.

First, it was a simple “those are nice” person #1 commented as she touched them.  Then it was “what are they?” from person #2.  I explained that they are mala beads that I sometimes use during my newly developed meditation practice.  It was interesting to hear their responses.  Person #2:   ”Some of my best thinking has come during my running”.  Person #1:  “My prior company’s logo was created out of a long run I was on”.

After just spending 3 hours last Saturday in a meditation vinyasa practice, my mind was in shock.  These people didn’t get it.  How unfortunate I thought.  Then I realized “not thinking and simply being” is a foreign concept to the many business professionals; yet I believe they are ideal for the practice.

I had to interject.  I had to help them understand, they’re missing out on a little secret.  Meditation is not about thinking.  In fact, it’s the complete opposite.  It’s simply about being.  I had to explain how I use meditation to create clarity in my day (and my life) by clearing out some of the unnecessary chatter in my head.  It’s a wonderful tool to build confidence in trusting my intuition which many people often neglect.  Person #2:  “Yes, I catch myself doubting my instincts sometimes”.  Ahhhhh, I thought maybe I’m getting somewhere.  Then the bell went off.  It was time to take our seats.  I guess I’ll being wearing them to my next networking breakfast. 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by yeslakshmi on November 17, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Yes! i agree with you.
    I’ve been teaching yoga for close to 30 years and still haven’t got any lulu lemon clothes. How uncool am I? :0)

    lakshmi

    Reply

  2. I agree that spiritual consumerism is a pitfall. Yet there may be a “middle way” that also contributes to building network and educating others who would appreciate yoga, meditation, etc. if they knew more and knew it is no longer a “liability” to be public about such practices.When I wear inspirational jewelry I seek an energetic connection. Recently I found a wonderful high quality gold and silver yoga jewelry selection handcrafted by a yoga practitioner on a remote island yoga community. Rings, pendants, necklace charms, earrings, pendant necklaces, with some neat themes – laughing buddha, yin yang, om, namaste in sanskrit, lotus blossoms, yoga poses, all at http//www.BeachYogaJewelry.com. This is what I mean … to feel connected with other practitioners and support their artistry. Check it out. Avoid the blatantly commercial outlets. I already ordered my own gold jewelry pendant. Now I am going back for holiday gifts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

