Breakthrough #1 – Listening

Before going to Mexcio, I thought I was a good listener.  I always looked at people when they spoke.  I didn’t interrupt them (most of the time).  These are signs I’m listening, right?

Little did I know, I haven’t been “actively” listening most of my life.  This is my first breakthrough…I am now actively listening to others. 

It’s amazing how much opens up when I REALLY listen.  Listening means I am fully engaged in the person who is speaking.  It means I’m not thinking about what I’m going to say next (how often do you do that?).  It means not wondering off in my head, i.e. checking out mentally.  This was a huge realization for me as I’ve spent my life “checking out”.  It’s a lot easier to check out especially if it’s a topic I don’t think I’m interested in.

Listening means keeping my eyes focused on the person in front of me.  Eyes are a powerful part of active listening.  Active listening means energetically dedicating attention (through open ears and eyes) and silence to the person who is speaking.

Sounds easy, doesn’t it?  Try it.  It’s a lot harder than you think.  And it’s something I admit I haven’t done in a long, long time (if ever).  I’m finding as I truly start to listen, I’m learning things I didn’t know about in this world.  I’m learning things about myself.  I’m learning things about others.  And my heart is opening up as I’m starting to connect with others on a deeper level.

Listening is truly amazing once you commit to it.  God gave us eyes and ears for a reason so why not use them to their fullest. 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Greg on December 20, 2007 at 1:40 am

    Wow. Good blogs. I know now that abellaYOGA is not truly a business, but a vehicle to propel you on your new journey. Going back to the “be” and not focusing on the end state, you’re on this really cool trip. Here’s a parting thought as you begin your journey:

    It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no telling where you might be swept off to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

