Will Yoga Make Me More Flexible?

If you’re looking to touch your toes, yes yoga can help you get there.  Though I warn you —you’ll learn a lot more along the way down.

Inactivity, which causes one to lose flexibility, results in stiffness in both body and mind.  So the more you move, the more limber the body becomes and hence, the more open your mind will be to what life has to offer.

Yoga asanas (postures), when practiced correctly, require every part of the physical body to be a part of the “yoga party”.  So yes, yoga will help you become flexible from head to toe.  Though over time, you’ll find your mental, emotional and somatic bodies (which I won’t discuss here) are natural “guests” at the yoga party you’re hosting on your mat.  These guests actually are always there but you may not have been aware of them.  The more you show up on your mat, the more you’ll take note and party with these guests.

Simple answer, YOGA will make you more flexible but you’ll get so much more from a regular yoga practice than being able to touch your toes.  Yoga will help relieve muscle tension, increase range of motion, create muscle tone and relieve stress.  Cardio conditioning, body alignment, weight and pain management are also benefits some experience from a regular yoga practice.

Best of all, yoga is an natural tool for becoming present in your life, both on and off the mat, as well as finding the inner peace that resides in you.    Oh, and let me not forget to mention, the more you start to touch your toes you’ll find yourself getting regular pedicures.  Namaste!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Prema on July 14, 2008 at 4:47 am

    I started yoga classes last week. Everyone in the class seems to be able to touch their toes but I cant get past my knees. It frustrates me but no matter how hard I try I dont get beyond. I find this happening with most stretches and it hurts.
    Will this change with time or am I just not flexible for yoga?

    Reply

    • Posted by summer on June 19, 2009 at 2:45 pm

      i’m in the same boat as you prema … i can’t touch my toes. but i’m excited to know that eventually that WILL change. keep at it … and over time you will get more and more range of motion. you are conditioning your body! it’s a good thing!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Pia on June 26, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I just started doing yoga for the need of trying something new and I’m totally hooked. I love the way I feel during and after and my body feels so much stronger. And the flexibility has increased too as you say!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Camilla on August 20, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Hey,
    i am starting yoga tomorrow! i am ten years old, if i do yoga will i be able to do the splits, toch my toes, sit down stretch my legs and lie in between them, gain complete balance, loose weight, lift my leg behing my ears, do hand stands, bend backwards into a perfect bridge and more after 2 years of yoga practising every week?
    Love you, your blog ROCKS!
    Camie!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by janey on June 26, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Hey i just started yoga! i am only 2 lessons in and i completely love it! I couldn’t touch my toes and now i am getting closer. (i can even touch them for a couple seconds, before having to stand up straight again!!) its so exciting i can’t WAIT until im great at yoga and super flexible it is my goal:)!! i will never give this up…….

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mike on September 26, 2011 at 9:14 am

    From what I understand Yoga is an individual thing but I’ve always known stretching to be more effective with partners. Why is that not more a part of yoga? Or am I wrong and I just haven’t seen partner stretching in Yoga?

    Reply

  6. You are right, yoga is an individual thing, and is not about touching your toes or not, is about talking to your inner body, soul, mind… you dont need to be a rubber guru to reach your meditation, you do need to find that comfortable place in your posture that will allow you to achieve the state of mind you need to reach.
    I encourage everyone to take a class..specially hot yoga, bikram yoga.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

