Follow-up from 4/26, weekend with Ana Forrest

As for trying a new yoga teacher, I spent a weekend in April up at Four Winds Yoga in
Pennington, NJ.  Ana Forrest was there to lead a 3 day workshop on “finding your spirit”.  Not only did I journey farther down the path of connecting with my spirit, I opened my eyes to a new teacher as well as a new, flowing (and heated) style of yoga.  As I often tell my students and those new to yoga, it’s so important to try different yoga teachers and styles as each has something to offer.  For me, some are much more profound than others.      

Prior to the workshop, I had heard mixed reviews on AF.  I’m a huge believer that everyone is entitled to their views.  I also believe that when listening to someone else’s experience that’s all you need to do…listen to them.  Take in what you wish, consider it and then see for yourself.   As an individual, the experience may or may not be different for you but you don’t know until you try.

I am now a follower of Forrest Yoga and am strongly considering Ana’s teacher training program in 2008.  I’m excited she will be at Down Dog Yoga (my studio of choice in
Washington, DC) in December 2007 as I will have another chance before the year ends to be in the presence of her spirit. 

Her commanding grace, touch and words rejuvenated my practice and gave me something to ponder as I consider the next phase of my teacher training.    

As I said on 4/26, how things change.  By simply trying a new style of yoga and a new teacher, I am reconsidering the path I’ll follow as a yoga student, where I want to go as a teacher and where I want to take my students in their journey.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MELODY on May 19, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    IT IS NICE TO HEAR ANOTHER YOGINI EXPERIENCE FORREST YOGA. I STARTED PRACTING FORREST YOGA 2004. IT CHANGED ME PROFOUNDLY. ONE OF ANA FORREST PROTEGES WILL HOLD A WORKSHOP 6/15/-6/16 IN SKIPPACK ,PA. CHECK OUT HER WEBSITE HEATHER TIDDENS. NAMASTE

    Reply

  2. In August I became a Forrest Yoga Teacher, I have studied in Boston, next to this magnificent Yogini, Healer with a Great Spirit, Ana Forrest!
    I returned at my home, Greece and since September 2008 I spread Forrest Yoga everywhere…
    Every time I teach, I dedicate each of my practice to Ana, her last embrace to me was so powerful, she transfered to me all the passion that she has through her open heart.
    I feel so grateful about it.
    Thank you Ana. I love you so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

