How Often Should I Do Yoga?

I receive this question often and my answer is always “as often as you can.”  Seriously, even by doing as little as 10-15 minutes of yoga a day you’ll start to feel like a rock star.  Your mind will become clearer and more focused both on and off the mat.  Your body will become stronger, more flexible and radiant.  Your posture will improve.  Your outlook on life will change for the better.  The benefits are endless, but they only result from consistent practice. 

Look at it this way…our bodies are a reflection of our minds.  Anxiety, fear and stress start to transform our bodies giving us back/neck pain, butterflies and headaches.  Name an emotion and more than likely your body is playing it out subconsciously.

When you can start to relax the mind, your body will relax.  Just try it and see.  Start with 5 minutes of breathing every morning in a pose like Balasana (child’s pose) or maybe spend 10-15 minutes simply doing a few rounds of Sun Salutations.  Like with most things in life, consistency is key.

Wasn’t it McDonald’s that coined the term “you deserve a break today”?  Well abellaYOGA is coining “you deserve a break everyday”.  View your 5, 10, 30 minute (whatever you can do) daily yoga as the break you deserve.   

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi,
    I’m a 39 years old woman, divorced and with children. I work as bar tender, part-time, so I can use the time to take care of my kids and and I’ve found my equilibrium doing like this. During the never ending spent in my house I have one big passion that is watching tv on my satellite . I also like to look at classic movies. I don’t evoidsometime to look out of my windows either.
    I am pretty sadisfied with what I have and especially about my relationship with my kids. I just hope to stay health, so just an normal happy life.
    Bye
    Sandy

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle on March 22, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Ok, that person has to be joking. It sounds like Rick. Anyway, starting off in just Child’s Pose a bit at a time sounds good; esp. for me who doesn’t do it regularly. A good, healthy way to start the day, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

