Love What You DO

Sifting through a stash of receipts yesterday, I found a Starbucks receipt.  Why I kept it, who knows?  Like I’m going to take my coffee and muffin back a week later?!?!?!

What jumped off the receipt was the tagline at the bottom promoting Starbucks employment:  Love What You Do.  I’m not sure working at Starbucks is for me but I whole-heartedly agree with their recruiting slogan. 

Life is too short not to love what you DO.  If you don’t enjoy what you do, assess where you are and where you want to be.  What is does your ideal life look like?  View your life as a blank canvas and you’re the painter. 

The first step is to recognize what you want (set goals), what your values are and what makes you smile.  Then start painting your life masterpiece.  Map out the steps required to reach your goals.  Ask yourself:  If I only had 6 months to live, I would do X,Y and Z.  What have you always wanted to do but afraid to attempt?  What do you enjoy doing?  What if you won $1M, tax-free?  It’s a detailed process that can take time and energy but ultimately help you find what you love. 

To help you paint your life masterpiece, read Maximum Achievement by Brian Tracy.    

Leave a Reply

